Official advice for New Zealanders living and travelling overseas

News features

United States: change to entry requirements

On 21 January 2016, changes to the US Visa Waiver Programme came into effect and have the potential to affect New Zealanders travelling to the US.  

These changes mean that New Zealanders who are also nationals of Iraq, Sudan, Syria and Iran or New Zealanders who have travelled to these four countries on or after 1 March 2011 may no longer be eligible to apply for an ESTA to enter the United States under the Visa Waiver Programme.  New Zealanders who fall under these categories and who have previously been issued an ESTA may have this revoked.    

If you are affected by this change and wish to travel to the United States, you will need to apply for a visa at a US Embassy or Consulate.  

For further information regarding this change, visit the Embassy of the United States of America in New Zealand or speak to your nearest US Embassy or consulate for further assistance on visa applications.

Associated Advisories:

Share this page:

Share this page:

Latest News features